You have printed or saved this page from,
the website for the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador.


Many communities across the province have adopted heritage regulations, established heritage advisory committees and designated local heritage sites. Every single municipality in Newfoundland and Labrador has the ability to designate important buildings, structures and lands as heritage sites under the Municipalities Act. The Act states:

414. (2) (dd) A council may make regulations designating real property as a heritage building, structure or land.

200. (1) A building, structure or land designated by council as a heritage building, structure or land shall not be demolished or built upon nor the exterior of the building or structure altered, except under a written permit of the council specifically authorizing the alteration and in accordance with the terms and conditions of the permit.

(2) A council may establish a heritage advisory committee to advise the council on regulations made with respect to heritage buildings, structures and lands and the preservation of the real property designated under that section.

Check out our property search here and type "Municipal Heritage Site" in the name field to see what municipalities around the province have designated. 


For more information on municipal designation contact Andrea at 1-888-739-1892 ext 4 or